Peach Pie

Pies are my favorite bakery item to make. They are delicious, simple and beg to be shared. Plus you can get really creative with pie. Crust + filling = pie. Sweet filling, savory filling, custard filling, crumble crust, lattice crust, flour-less crust.

Great pie, like any great food, starts with the best ingredients. And that’s why I work my tush off freezing, canning and dehydrating food in the summer and fall, so I have the best ingredients all winter long and can eat like a king! I can create wild contrasts with preserved food. Think about it: A warm slice of peach pie in cold, snowy winter? How unnatural!

So here it is my peach pie recipe using home-canned Michigan peaches

2011 CSA members will probably remember the Michigan peaches I offered in addition to the vegetable shares last year.

Peach Pie

Leave a Reply

