July 19 Week Six

 

Rain clouds to the west

 

  • Beets
  • Potatoes
  • Zucchini
  • Yellow squash
  • Basil
  • Tomatoes
  • Onions
  • Kale

Tuesday Evening: As I write this, there is a 50% chance of rain forecasted. Nope, now 40%. The window is open in front of my desk and I keep trying to catch a whiff of oncoming rain, or the sound of a not-so-distant rumble of thunder. It wasn’t even a week ago that I was running through a downpour laughing, getting absolutely drenched. On that day, I burst into the greenhouse where several people had ducked in to avoid the torrent, and I initiated one big, dripping group hug and exclaimed “Look! Look out there! It’s so wet!” You’d have to have seen my ecstasy to believe it. I was splashing in puddles and cupping the rain up with my hands and tossing it back in the air. Leaving car windows continually open had become such a habit for everyone, but I happily sprinted through the barnyard rolling all those windows up. And when the rain stopped, I looked in wonder at the droplets still clinging to everything. I’d forgotten how water even acted, how it ran off metal siding and beaded on the greenhouse, or pooled in the palm of leaves.

Now that’s all just a strange memory. You’d never really have known it had rained if I didn’t just tell you. The ground is still cracked. The grass is still brown. Today I watched a blue heron land on the beach around the irrigation pond. The pond never used to have a beach. Then the majestic bird lifted off and took flight heading south, but then came back again and it repeated this trip over and over, back and forth, back and forth. What was that bird thinking? Maybe it was scoping out the fish population which keeps getting denser and denser as the water recedes. I heard that the creek behind the farm is dry. I’m nervous to walk back through the woods to look though, because I’m afraid of what else I might see back there. Most likely more evidence of drought stress in our native plants, animals, trees.

Wednesday Night Update: It… Is… Raining. I’m not sure I believe it. I went for a drive and for a moment I forgot how to turn my wipers on. (Yes, I did figure it out. It’s to the left of the steering wheel.) I’m not sure how much it is raining. I will update you Thursday. Nature is a strange mistress.

But quick now, on to the vegetables…

Hooray! The first tomatoes of the season! They’re just beginning, so there is just enough for the full share members, but everyone should get tomatoes next week. The long tomatoes are called Juliet and the little round ones are Bloody Butcher, an heirloom. Luckily tomatoes do well in dry weather. Not this dry, really, but with irrigation it’s okay. Still have garlic left? Make bruschetta with tomatoes, basil, onion and garlic. With this cool weather that came in, use your beets to make borscht. (Add potatoes to this recipe, trust me.) I’ve got to tell you, there really is nothing like a farm fresh potato. They have so much flavor! You’ll never eat store bought potatoes again! Keep grilling those squashes or try the zucchini pizza recipe below or make zucchini bread. Keep in mind that the bread does freeze well.

Look forward to sweet corn and more tomatoes soon! And the melons are sizing up nice. They sure love the heat we’ve been having. Heat=sweet. See you at pickup!

Zucchini Pizza
Author: from Too Many Tomatoes
Ingredients
  • 4 oz mozzarella or cheddar cheese
  • 4 cups grated zucchini/yellow squash
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons biscuit mix
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 1 onion, minced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 cup tomato sauce
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 2 oz mozzarella cheese
  • 2 oz cheddar chese
Instructions
  1. Combine first five ingredients and press into a 10 by 15 inch jelly roll pan. Bake at 400 for 15 minutes. Saute oil, onion, garlic & beef 10 minutes. Drain off fat. Stir tomato sauce, salt, pepper & oregano into meat. Spoon over crust. Grate cheese over meat. Bake pizza at 400 for 20 minutes.

 

July 19 Week Six

Leave a Reply

