August 9 Week Nine

August field

  • Sweet corn
  • Cucumbers
  • Peppers
  • Tomatoes
  • Melon
  • Basil
  • Beans
  • Kohlrabi
  • Zucchini
  • Eggplant

A full harvest like we have this week really makes farming fun. It’s nice to see such full boxes after the terrible drought we had earlier. We’re still seeing the effects of the drought though, particularly in the beans. This was going to be my year for beans, too. I planted tons of them and as much as I dislike picking beans, I love eating them. Dilly beans have got to be one of my favorite home-canned foods ever. The heat forces bean plants to abort their blossoms, though, and the beans that do form are all curly and goofy looking. Many of the early beans I planted were a total loss. Fortunately, I’ve had some luck with a few varieties though and full share members will certainly enjoy them this week.

The green striped tomatoes in your box this week are called Green Zebra tomatoes. They are an heirloom variety with some citrus zest. The sweet corn is again from Lindsey Klug, my neighbor down the street on Freistadt Road. This week’s variety is different than two weeks ago and was grown from treated seed so that it did not have to be sprayed for corn worms. I am fairly certain that I figured out the hot vs. sweet issue in the peppers. A few weeks ago I really thought that the lipstick bell peppers in the boxes this week were jalapenos. 🙂 Another joy of farming. What did I plant where?

While harvesting squash this week, I made a stupendous discovery. This year, for the fun of it, I planted this melon called a jelly melon or African horned cucumber. It is orange with spikes and the inside is like lime green jello. Awesome, yeah? Well, I had all these vines and no fruit, no fruit, week after week and this week I up and stepped on one! I was so excited. I exuberantly welcomed it to the garden and encouraged it to continue growing. It’s still green and luckily I didn’t injure it by stepping on it. (The spikes were a good cautionary sign.) You’ll be the first to know it’s ripe.

Monday I went to a CRAFT organized farmer field day about incubator/co-op farming at Fondy Farm in Port Washington. It was really wonderful to run into old friends and catch up. And I’ll let you in on a little secret: the food at a farmer potluck is some of the best food in the world. Forget your high dollar restaurants and fancy catered events. My own dish, although nothing particularly special, used a lot of the ingredients in your box this week. It was a cucumber, tomato, raw sweet corn & feta cheese salad with a lemon, olive oil dressing. I thought some black beans would’ve been good in there too. And if you’re looking for a super way to eat tomatoes, try them roasted. This roasted tomato recipe is sure to please and I can absolutely relate to the author when she talks about growing too many tomatoes. Talk to me if you’re interested in more tomatoes for canning or otherwise.

See you at pickup Crooked Carrot Farm members!

August 9 Week Nine

Leave a Reply

