September 6 Week Thirteen

Tomatoes in truck

  • Tomatoes
  • Shallots
  • Cucumbers
  • Carrots
  • Delicata squash
  • Broccoli
  • Melon
  • Eggplant
  • Beans
I’m renaming the farm. Crooked Carrot Farm will from now on be Broken Carrot Farm. I broke so many carrots this week during harvest. They are beautiful carrots and I know  for certain that they are down there in the ground, but I just couldn’t get them out! I’ve never had so much trouble with carrots. They are a new variety for me: Sugarsnax and they are super long. Most are well over a foot long, but I can’t get down far enough with my garden fork to pry them out. If the soil was light and sandy, it would be a different story, but the spot I planted them is like a layer of clay masked by a dusting of soil. I’m surprised they grew at all with those soil conditions. Oh, and I also bent a tine on my garden fork. Yes garden, thank you, lesson learned. Shorter varieties, different soil. (Hey, at least they are yummy!) 😉

The peppers are turning red, the jelly melon is turning orange, the squash vines are dying back and the tomato blight continues. It was too cloudy to see the blue moon last Friday, but two days ago, a blaze red/orange moon decorated the night sky. Fall is sneaking in. The kids are back in school, cooler weather is in the forecast and I’m itching to turn on the oven and make an apple pie. Ooo, or maybe a squash pie. Or carrot pie! Carrot pie is so good!

You have carrots and squash in the box this week. We can all make pie! No, okay, settle down. So the delicata squash is delicious. (Also called sweet potato squash. It’s the first winter squash of the season.) Eat the skin and meat, not the seeds. My mom puts it in the microwave with brown sugar and butter and eats it like a hot dog. Excuse me, we’re in Wisconsin, I mean brat. Shallots are one of those fancy foods that chefs are always after. Onion/garlic flavor. Use in anything. Sick of cucumbers yet? You’ll miss ’em when they’re gone! See recipe below or try Julia Child’s baked cucumber recipe.

Eat well!

Thai Cucumber Salad
Ingredients
  • 1/3 cup minced shallot
  • 1/3 cup sliced green onions
  • 4 medium cucumbers (about 2 1/2 pounds) — peeled, halved lengthwise, seeded, and thinly sliced
  • 2 small hot red chiles — halved lengthwise, seeded, and thinly sliced (about 1 to 2 tablespoons) (2 to 4)
  • 1/2 cup rice vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
Instructions
  1. Combine first 4 ingredients in a large bowl. Combine vinegar, sugar, and salt, and stir well. Add to the cucumber mixture, tossing to coat. Stir in the cilantro.
September 6 Week Thirteen

Leave a Reply

