September 13 Week Fourteen

vegetables

  • Tomatoes
  • Potatoes
  • Fennel
  • Acorn squash
  • Onions
  • Broccoli
  • Kohlrabi
  • Cucumbers
Still swimming in tomatoes. Last year I gave away the first tomatoes on August 13. This year it was July 19. We’ve had nine weeks of tomatoes so far. I don’t think we’ll make it to the end of the season, but it’s been a strange year. We’ll see how it goes.
I’ve been busy with apples this past week. There are lots of apples coming in now, but they’re selling out quickly, too: Gala, McIntosh, Cortland, Golden Supreme, Fuji, Ozark Gold. Picking apples is challenging. There is a lot of opportunity for failure. I have to break just the stem, not the branch. I can’t squeeze them too hard lest they bruise. I have to be careful not to let them slip out of my hand and set them gently into the picking bag, then ever so slowly dump the bag of apples into the bin. All this while not falling off the ladder or cherry picker and keeping up a quick pace. By the end of the day my shoulders and back are sore and all I can see in my head is apples. It’s all worth it though because apples make people happy. They bring people together at the kitchen table over a warm apple pie. They are good for your health and people get excited about them. These are mostly the same reasons I grow vegetables. So it’s pretty easy to love my job most days. I feel like I’m doing something that matters. My advice for apples this year: get ’em before they’re gone! You’ll be itching for applesauce come February, so put up your quart jars now!
The new veggie this week is acorn squash. These are really good keepers and tend to sweeten in storage. Bake and add brown sugar and butter or take a tip from worker share Tom and make stuffed peppers, but substitute the acorn squash for the pepper. This is the last of the Adirondack blue potatoes. Look forward to Kennebecs and Carolas in coming weeks. (A couple people got Kennebecs this week.) Don’t waste those broccoli stalks! Make broccoli slaw. I like adding sunflower seeds and raisins. And check out this grilled fennel recipe. Sounds simply delicious!
September 13 Week Fourteen

Leave a Reply

