October 11 Week Eighteen

The Butternut Squash

Recently, I tried
The butternut squash.
And is it delicious?
Oh, my Gosh!
It’s simply amazing.
And I’m surprised
That it’s been hidden
From my eyes.
The butternut squash
Is the way to go.
Can’t believe
That I love it so.
©
Walterrean Salley
butternut squash
  • Tomatoes

  • Hot peppers

  • Butternut squash

  • Celery

  • Kale

  • Cauliflower

  • Cabbage

  • Onion

Still wondering where the rain is… I heard of other farmers watering their parsnips the day before harvesting just to make it possible to get those roots out of the ground. The pond is still too low for me to irrigate, so I’ll just keep hoping for rain.

Tom, my trusty worker share pulled all the drip line out of the garden. The deer are eagerly waiting for me to tear down the electric fence and many of the fall colors I mentioned in the last blog post have made their way from tree tops to the ground. With all this wind we’ve been having the trees are starting to look skeletal.

I scared up another week of tomatoes. That they survived all those frosts is pretty surprising. I don’t expect you to eat all those hot peppers in a week, but they do store very well in the fridge in the crisper for a few weeks. Also, they freeze well, just de-stem and chop finely and put in a plastic bag, being certain to get out most of the air before sealing. Then just break off a chunk when you want to use later in the winter.

Hey, guess what!  New vegetable: celery! This was the first experience I’ve ever had with growing celery. It’s little celery, I know, probably could have done without the drought we had, but I’m guessing it’s tasty. Dark secrets from your organic farmer…. Celery is my least favorite vegetable. I will not touch it raw. It smells terrible and tastes even worse. Cook it for a few hours in a soup and I will be less offended, but try to sneak it into my tuna salad and I would much rather go hungry. Doesn’t it make you feel better to know that even vegetable farmers don’t like some vegetables? If I were a CSA customer at Crooked Carrot Farm, I’d swap celery every time. I don’t care how many recipes you give me. Forget you celery! You’re better off in the compost! So, anyway, I hope you enjoy your celery this week. Let me know. 🙂

Here’s a recipe for Butternut Squash Risotto with Sage Butter to go with the silly poem which you should definitely read out loud. It’s more fun! Go on and play with your food!

October 11 Week Eighteen

Leave a Reply

