October 25 Week Twenty: Final Week

  • crooked parsnipParsnips
  • Cabbage
  • Potatoes
  • Squash
  • Swiss chard
  • Leeks
  • Carrots
  • Garlic

Well, here it is friends, the last week of Crooked Carrot Farm vegetables for the year 2012. What an amazing year it has been. We installed a new irrigation system, utilized a new cooler, weathered severe drought, extended the season by two weeks, almost doubled membership and ate like kings! I want to thank each and every one of you for your support this year, for fueling my passion. I am so happy to have fed you and your children. It warms my heart. This year definitely wasn’t easy, but it was so, so rewarding. I earnestly hope that you have enjoyed your fresh, local, organic vegetables. If you’re hungry this winter, I encourage you to go to the Milwaukee County Winter Farmers Market. It starts November 3rd!

So what’s next for me? I’m going on vacation. I’ll be heading out early November to go backpacking in the Red River Gorge in Kentucky and I’ll visit some family out there, too. When I come back, I’ll prune apple trees and do paperwork and plan for next year.  Stay in touch by reading the Crooked Carrot Farm blog!

Roast your veggies this week. A few years back my friend Jacob roasted cabbage. It made me fall in love with cabbage all over again. Try this recipe for cheesy parsnips. I tried the parsnip pancake recipe from last week, but really my favorite way to eat them is like mashed potatoes. Maybe add carrots! Put leeks in your next quiche! (Wow, that was really yummy last Sunday, Mom.) Eat your swiss chard. It’s chock full of vitamins. Chard & beans are a great combo.

Look for an end of season survey in your email in the coming weeks. Thank you to everyone: CSA members, CSA worker shares, family, friends, neighbors, strangers with kind words. None of this would have been possible without you. You’re incredible. To fresh, local food! Cheers!

October 25 Week Twenty: Final Week

Leave a Reply

