Vittles- The Trail Diet

Hiker hunger and the trail diet are favorite topics of thru-hiker conversations. Hikers have been known to polish off thousands of calories in one sitting.  Food=fuel. No food, no fuel. Bad food, no fuel. I plan to eat edible, calorie-dense, not awful for you, quick cooking, light-weight food. I have some mild personal adversity to wheat, preservatives, sugar, ingredients I cannot pronounce and anything low-fat. At home this works for me, but on the trail I certainly won’t let my “food code” get in the way of my health. Rules will be broken if necessary. Many have gone before me, only to come back with tales of Snickers addiction and rumors of unholy concoctions of  tortillas, sardines and nutella.

On-trail diet

  • grits
  • oatmeal
  • quinoa flakes (if I can get them)
  • thai rice noodles
  • trail mix
  • hard cheese
  • fritos
  • peanut butter
  • tuna packets
  • corn tortillas
  • cream cheese
  • dry sausage
  • jerky
  • dark chocolate
  • Clif bars and their cousins

Resupply

At least once a week I’ll be in town to resupply. Towns have magical places called restaurants, all-you-can-eat buffets, ice cream parlors and diners with hot coffee! I plan to visit those establishments always weighing financial responsibility against gastrointestinal satisfaction. Heading out of town, I’ll pack fresh fruit and veggies for the first few meals.

So that’s the plan on food. We’ll see how it changes once I get on the trail. I’ll keep you updated. (Twenty-two left days before I leave!)

 

Vittles- The Trail Diet

Leave a Reply

