8/3

Woke up to cold and wind and rain this morning. I didn’t want to get out from under my quilt so I didn’t until like 9:30. I actually woke up in the middle of the night cold and had to put on my socks. Then while I was packing up,
a bird pooped on me. Yes, a bird pooped on me. It was all over my red Patagonia Houdini jacket. As if I’m not dirty enough already.

We started hiking at 11:15 after drying out some gear and drinking hot coffee. Up and over Stratton. We mad footed it up that mountain and then waited in line to climb the fire tower. The mountain is nearly 4000 feet high. The views were beautiful. The wind was whipping really good up there.

image

I am learning the muds of vermont. It’s making me a better hiker. Some mud is clay like and okay to step through. Other mud is squishy and wet and not okay to step through unless I want wet feet, so I leap or rock/root hop over that stuff. Some spots look muddy but really aren’t.

Carpenter and I are at Spruce Peak shelter tonight. We were going to hike further, but there is a door here and a wood burning stove. We’re gonna be warm tonight! There are also some kids here from timber lake camp part of farm and wilderness organization in Vermont. They fed us leftover macaroni and cheese. Yum! That helps with the low food issue. Sean was the leader. Great hiking weather today. It warmed up a bit and the bugs haven’t been a problem at all.

15.6 miles today. We were shooting for 20, but this shelter is just too good to pass up. Thought we’d see rusty and toast here but we’re the only ones in the shelter tonight. Battery is about to die. Good night!

8/3

Leave a Reply

