9/15

Got a late start today. We only had to go to birches campsite at the base of Katahdin. We checked in with the rangers. I’m the 438th thru hiker to sign in this year at Baxter State Park. Woo!

Today is beautiful, yesterday was beautiful. It’s too bad we couldn’t summit today. Oh well.

I’m sick. I feel terrible. My head is so stuffy. I have the sniffles. I’m sneezing. My ears are popping. Ugh. I just want to sleep. The walk today wasn’t bad. I just went slow because my balance is off because of my cold. I’m going to bed early tonight.

I hiked with Carpenter, Jabberwocky and Balto, a kid we just met. He’s a goof.

So, tomorrow is the big day. 4000’+ climb up Mount Katahdin where lies the northern terminus of the Appalachian Trail. 10 miles. 5 up, 5 down. Carpenter and I have been telling thru hikers since Virginia that they get three wishes on top of Katahdin. I better figure out what mine are. I’m also crossing my fingers for fireworks on top. I’d ask you all to cross your fingers too, but I won’t be able to post this until I come off the mountain. Maybe by some miracle my cold will be gone tomorrow. Hey, I could use one of my wishes to get rid of my cold!

9/15

Leave a Reply

